The Pupil by Dawn Goodwin

3 stars from me

I found The Pupil to be an engaging book which drew me into the lives of the main characters and I loved the juxtaposition of main character Katherine’s current life and her visits to her mum. Actually, in a lot of ways the bits where she visits ‘home’ are some of the most compelling of the book.

The ‘twists’ in the book were, for me, a bit of a non event, they will heavily indicated throughout which made them a bit of a damp squib. I don’t think I really liked any of the characters either – the chip shop owner was probably my favourite!

I don’t like giving 3 star reviews, it feels rude and disrespectful to the author who has spent so much time crafting this tale for our enjoyment, however I do need to be true to myself and true to those books which I hold up high and say ‘this is worthy of 4 or even 5 stars’, so the 3 stars signifies that I enjoyed this book – in fact I read it an a day, it has some excellent parts and for me the overall story line – particularly the ‘twists’ and some of the characteristics of the key players could do with a few little tweaks.

That said, I am going to find myself a copy of ‘The Accident’ by the same author as it has excellent reviews and I am sure there will be many great works from this author in future.

Synopsis: One moment of carelessness. Four shattered lives. 

Psychological suspense that explores a labyrinth of lies, manipulation and revenge. Perfect for fans of Louise Jenson and Katerina Diamond.

Literary agent Viola Matthews is sure she’s met Katherine Baxter before. So when her husband and bestselling novelist Samuel Morton introduces Viola to the quiet, unassuming woman he has offered to mentor, she knows their paths have crossed before. The question is where?

As their worlds collide and the bond between Samuel and Katherine deepens, Viola realises she must take control. 

If Viola is right, then Katherine needs to pay for something that happened twelve years ago.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.