The Cold Killer by Ross Greenwood

5 stars from me ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

I absolutely love this series. DI Barton and his team are so good to follow and Ross Greenwood is just superb at creating believable characters.

I love love love the prison elements and the mix of hard brutality, fear, threat, desperation and depravity which – flexed alongside the love, the softness and the kindness – is sublime.

There is a clever back story, there are multiple threads all with carefully constructed paths, there are people we need to care about and people we need to despise.

Meanwhile, as the death toll rises, it’s ever so hard to feel sorry for the victims…

I also love all of the descriptions of Peterborough, although I have to confess it makes me slightly less inclined to visit and I can’t image the P’boro tourist board enjoy quite how many murdering madman and paedophiles reportedly live there!

I can’t recommend this series enough, if you like police procedurals, or prison dramas, or simply crime thrillers, this is the series for you.

Blurb: It’s hard to live when you think you deserve to die…

When a tired old inmate is found dead in his cell, the prison is obligated to investigate and so DI Barton attends. The men he interviews have been convicted of some of the worst things a human being can do, but it appears likely that the death was due to natural causes.

When the house of the dead man is burgled and that crime is followed by a suspicious fire, Barton desperately needs to speak to his widow, but she’s nowhere to be found.

In the space of twenty-four hours, everyone he wants to talk to has vanished. Then he receives some post which makes him believe he could be the next to disappear.

Barton’s investigation goes full circle, through a series of brutal murders, back to the prison, and all signs are pointing to the fact that he’s made a terrible mistake.

There’s a violent killer on the loose, who wants everyone to learn that some people deserve to die.

DI Barton is back as Ross Greenwood continues with his bestselling series, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham and Ian Rankin.

Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3BSESCh

Author Bio – Ross Greenwood is the bestselling author of eight crime thrillers. Before becoming a full-time writer he was most recently a prison officer and so worked everyday with murderers, rapists and thieves for four years. He lives in Peterborough.

Social Media Links –

Facebook https://facebook.com/facebook.com/rossgreenwoodauthor

Twitter https://twitter.com/greenwoodross  

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/rossg555/  

Newsletter Sign Up Link http://bit.ly/RossGreenwoodNewsletter

Bookbub profile https://www.bookbub.com/authors/ross-greenwood

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.