The Girl Downstairs by Iain Maitland

4 Stars from me

Oh. My. Word. This book is as creepy as and is like a slowly advancing tide that draws you further into to its insidious inky darkness with every retreating wave.

I think this is the first Iain Maitland book that I’ve read and it certainly won’t be the last.

A tiny cast of characters and I felt as though I was watching an intimate and tightly cast play in an ageing arts theatre, full of tension – where the audience gasps and murmurs in all the right places.

Mr Adams, Philip, Simple Simon… is he a benevolent lonely old man with an ironically named dog? Or a monster?

Rosie, Alice, is she an innocent victim, or a predator?

No spoilers from me… go read it yourself and find out.

I was literally hooked from the first page as this story unfolded and am so glad to have been a part of this @ZooloosBT book tour! My thanks to @iainmaitland @inkubatorbooks #TheGirlDownstairs  #InkubatorBooks #ZooloosBookTours

Blurb: Rosie is homeless and winter is closing in. So she can’t believe her luck when a total stranger, Mr. Adams, invites her to stay.

But Mr. Adams has a secret. He has chosen Rosie because she reminds him of someone very special from long ago. Maybe she can even help him recapture that distant happiness.

Of course, she might need a little encouragement, but that’s fine…

What he doesn’t realise is that Rosie has a secret too, a secret that will have horrifying consequences for them both.

So instead of the heaven he had hoped to find, Mr. Adams finds himself fighting to escape the special kind of hell created by… the girl downstairs.

The Girl Downstairs – the stunning psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Edwards, K. L. Slater, Miranda Rijks.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.