First Date by Sue Watson

4.5 Stars from me

Hannah, Hannah, Hannah… what a frustrating young lady!

This is the first Sue Watson book that I’ve read but it won’t be the last! First Date was utterly addictive and I had huge trouble putting it down!

This psychological thriller will make you doubt everything and everyone, it is so cleverly put together – just when you think you’ve got something sussed out, a whole new slant is added.

In amongst all the madness, I really liked Hannah’s work set up. Apart from the awfulness of what they actually did for a living, the office set up and camaraderie sounded wonderful. There were some beautiful little touches of humour and perfectly described nuances of friendships.

I had SO MANY hunches, conclusions, definite endings in mind as I read First Date and – with no spoilers – it’s fair to say they were not all right by any means!

Be warned, there are twists and turns a plenty and don’t take anything at face value… ever!

Blurb: She’s been waiting her whole life to meet a man like Alex. But he’s been waiting too. And once he has her, he’ll never let her go…

Hannah has done everything to make sure her life is safe and secure. A long way from her unstable childhood growing up in foster care, she’s content with her sweet, little, messy apartment and her satisfying job as a social worker. She quietly worries that, aged 36, she might never fall in love. But otherwise her life is where she wants it to be.

Until, encouraged by her best friend to join a dating app, she meets Alex. He’s irresistibly handsome. He loves the same music as her. The same food as well. They both dream of travelling the world but agree they’d be equally happy escaping to a cottage by the beach in Devon. Both of them would love to own a Labrador one day. It’s like he’s made for her. It’s like he’s too good to be true.

Hannah’s friends aren’t so sure about him. But Hannah thinks he’s perfect.

Which is good. Because Alex knows she’s perfect for him too. In fact, she’s exactly the girl he’s been looking for…

And nothing Hannah’s done to make her life safe will ever be enough.

A gripping and suspenseful psychological thriller about dark obsession and internet dating. Fans of The Wife Between Us, Friend Request and Gone Girl will adore this unputdownable twisted love story.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.