One for Sorrow by Helen Fields

4 Stars from me

Another great episode in the Ava Turner and Luc Callanach series.

A fabulous, fast and exciting storyline runs, rapidly, throughout One for Sorrow – it is a tense and engaging plot to follow.

Each situation that confronts Ava and Luc is unpredictable and doing the right thing becomes not only difficult but the difference between life and death. It is a horrifying situation that they find themselves in and the weight of responsibility is difficult to manage for them both.

I love the relationship between these two, it has matured throughout the books and now seems in quite a positive place with more than a glimpse of a way forward.

The drama unfolds at a good pace and makes this a fast read with lots of excitement and suspense along the way. It is very cleverly plotted and often surprising. If you enjoyed the earlier books you will definitely like this one.

Blurb: One for sorrow, two for joy Edinburgh is gripped by the greatest terror it has ever known. A lone bomber is targeting victims across the city and no one is safe.

Three for a girl, four for a boy DCI Ava Turner and DI Luc Callanach face death every day – and not just the deaths of the people being taken hostage by the killer.

Five for silver, six for gold When it becomes clear that with every tip-off they are walking into a trap designed to kill them too, Ava and Luc know that finding the truth could mean paying the ultimate price.

Seven for a secret never to be told… But with the threat – and body count – rising daily, and no clue as to who’s behind it, neither Ava nor Luc know whether they will live long enough to tell the tale…

With twists and turns you’ll never see coming, prepare to be gripped by this devastatingly good thriller. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride and MJ Arlidge.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.