The Fallen by Michael Wood

5 Stars from me

I was so excited to read The Fallen as it is another little delve into the world of DCI Matilda Darke and her team.

Now, this is hard to talk about without any spoilers for future books but it was with a bitter sweetness that I dipped back into the early lives of these characters. If you’ve read the later books you will know exactly what I mean.

Although a short story, it packs no less of a punch and the premise of the tight storyline is superb. Truly the mind of Michael Wood is a clever one and I adored reading these books. I want him to write about Matilda and the team forever.

Please, do yourself a favour, read the DCI Matilda Darke books in order:

The Fallen
For Reasons Unknown
Outside Looking In
A Room Full of Killers
The Hangman’s Hold
Stolen Children
The Murder House
Time Is Running Out
Survivor’s Guilt
The Lost Children

And out on audio book only: Vengeance Is Mine

Blurb: A short story and prequel featuring DCI Matilda Darke, star of Michael Wood’s darkly compelling crime series. Perfect for fans of Stuart MacBride, Mark Billingham and Val McDermid.

It’s Christmas in Sheffield. But not everyone is enjoying the festive season…

A man has been found brutally murdered in his own home.The victim is Iain Kilbride, a once-famous TV star who has faded into obscurity. All signs point to a break-in, but why has nothing been taken?

For DCI Matilda Darke, this is the perfect chance to prove her newly formed Murder Investigation Team are up to the task. Matilda suspects the clue to the finding the killer lies in Iain’s past, but she’s about to discover how dark that past really is…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.