Silent Graves by Sally Rigby

4 Stars from me

This books sees DCI Whitney Walker and Forensic Psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish in the 9th instalment of the Cavendish & Walker series – however I do think it could be read and enjoyed as a standalone novel.

In Silent Graves, Whitney and her team have just moved into a swanky new purpose built modern (characterless) building for Lenchester Police Force. Whitney likes her bigger office but feels it is a bit like a goldfish bowl at times.

Following the move, there are two new members on her team and Whitney reverts to type by quickly having issues with the male one and attempting to nurture the female – something which George pulls no punches about pointing out.

Along with a new team, Whitney also has a new boss who she hopes will get along with, especially after her awful relationship with ‘dickhead’!

Being a fan of ‘New Tricks’ I particularly liked the cold case element of this book in which two sets of skeletal remains from 40 years ago are dug up on a building site at a farm.

After reviewing the original case it soon becomes evident that more could have been done to solve the case at the time – so why wasn’t it?

Silent Graves is a really enjoyable read and I would imagine fans of Vera, New Tricks, Midsummer Murders etc would greatly enjoy it.

Silent Graves (Cavendish & Walker #9) by Sally Rigby
#SilentGraves @SallyRigby4 #CavendishandWalker @damppebbles
#damppebblesblogtours

Book Blurb: Nothing remains buried forever…

When the bodies of two teenage girls are discovered on a building site, DCI Whitney Walker knows she’s on the hunt for a killer. The problem is the murders happened forty years ago and this is her first case with the new team. What makes it even tougher is that with budgetary restrictions in place, she only has two weeks to solve it.

Once again, she enlists the help of forensic psychologist Dr Georgina Cavendish, but as she digs deeper into the past, she uncovers hidden truths that hurtle through the decades and into the present.

Silent Graves is the ninth book in the acclaimed Cavendish & Walker series. Perfect for fans of L J Ross, J M Dalgleish and Rachel Abbott.

3 Comments

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.